Yarn for the everlovin’ blue-eyed thing

I wanted to show off my latest foray into yarn dyeing.  I call it Sweet Aunt Petunia’s Blue-Eyed Thing.  Impossibly long (and ever so slightly wanky), yeah I know.

It is destined to become a set or two of baby hats and socks.  None of the parents-to-be I know are expecting deliveries anytime soon, so that is why I wanted to show off my colourway a little early.  I had found it difficult over the holidays to obtain a blue that was rich enough to satisfy me.  I just don’t have that much Kool-Aid, and it is not the right shade.  This blue came from 2 packs of Easter egg dye and a whole lot of vinegar.

2 Comments

Filed under Dyeing, Finished Objects

2 responses to “Yarn for the everlovin’ blue-eyed thing

  1. Johnathon Altes

    For me, blue eyes are the prettiest. I wish i had blue eyes though. ;

    <a href="Please do go look at our new webpage
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/hair-removal-for-men/

  2. Willy Burdeshaw

    Variation in the colour of the eyes from brown to green can all be explained by the amount of melanin in the iris, but blue-eyed individuals only have a small degree of variation in the amount of melanin in their eyes. “From this we can conclude that all blue-eyed individuals are linked to the same ancestor,” says Professor Eiberg. “They have all inherited the same switch at exactly the same spot in their DNA.” Brown-eyed individuals, by contrast, have considerable individual variation in the area of their DNA that controls melanin production.’

    Most interesting piece of content on our own blog
    <'http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

