Embroidery, as promised

Hi ya’ll.  I mentioned some embroidery in my last post, pretty rude seeing as I didn’t have any pictures to flash.  Well, now I have ’em.

Here are the polos.  Won’t we look cute?  Urgh.  Not too cute I hope, I’ll have to be careful where we (BF and I) wear these.  If you’d like to see close ups, the Craftster post for these is here … http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=145756.msg1435258#msg1435258

Looks yuck, I know.  This is the beginning of work on one of the two hand towels I hope to finish.  The Sublime Stitching book I mentioned the other day did suggest that it is not a good idea for beginners to try to stitch straight on to terry toweling.  So yeah, I was warned.  But I thought “Hey I am getting good at this embroidery thing, I can do that”.  Famous last words?  We’ll see, I have not yet given up.  What you see above is stitches intended to tack down the pile and hold it in place.  I hope that it helps to simplify the actual embroidery, my first attempt was so bad I ripped it out.  This really is difficult, so if anyone has any advice I’d love to hear it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Embroidery, Finished Objects, Works In Progress

Leave a Reply

