What on earth have I been up to?

I have certainly been quiet of late, not many posts from me at all.  Why?  I have been crafting away like crazy, but all of it for Craftster swaps.  I don’t like to reveal swap items before they have been received.  Some people do (usually with a heading warning the swap partner not to look) and that is OK.  But as I said, I don’t like to do it.  So I have not had much I could blog about, and have been too busy to do so anyhow.  What with all that crafting, and getting a lot done at work for once too.  🙂

 This morning I snapped pictures of the one non-swap related project I have finished in a fair while – determined to blog about it today, no matter what.  While I was doing this, it occurred to me that I haven’t shown everyone the great stuff that I made for the last swap.  The Magic Yarn Ball swap was something that delighted me for many weeks last year and deserves a wrap up post I think.  I will endeavour to do that in a few days time, be warned now, it will be a very long and picture obese post!  As you may well have seen before, a MYB and all the goodies it contains fills a good many photos.  It will be a good thing to share I think, and will fill in some gaps I had not yet realized I’d left, after all it is what set me off on the path to near obsession with Glampyre’s One Skein Wonder pattern in the first place (see previous posts which feature my OSW #’s 1, 2 & 3).

 Which brings me to the pics I was taking this very morning…

Introducing my One Skein Wonder number 4.  Yes, I realise I have not yet finished number 3.  This was mostly completed for therapeutic purposes, you see, OSW#3 has been giving me trouble.  No, it is not the hood that is the problem.  The hood I gave it, is pretty great in my opinion, thanks very much.  It is the bands that are giving me headaches.  I have lost count of how many times I have re-started them.  So, when times got tough, I worked on number 4 for a while.  I had always planned on making one with an all-over basic eyelet lace pattern anyhow.  I am hoping that number five will have long sleeves and that I will then be done.  Well, not before making matching tops, tanks or boob tubes for most of them.  Oh how I do love a matching set.

Here is a close up of the stitch pattern, un-blocked.  Well hey, I told ya it was a basic eyelet pattern.  I really meant basic, it could not possibly be more simple.  K2, y over, K2tog (that is on the right side, just purl right through the wrong side reows, but you already knew that).  That is it, after the first few rows it became brainless to work.  I like the effect, it is a nice and cool fabric.  Oh, and that’s Moda Vera’s Ciuf Ciuf, in colourway 8 by the way.  It is 63% Merino 21% Nylon and 16% Acrylic, feels very fluffy soft indeed.  Best of all, I had the good fortune to pick up 11 balls at an insane $1 each.  As I have used less than 2 1/2 balls, I am planning a matching tank.  When I have completed all my swaps that is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finished Objects, General Happenings, Knitting

Leave a Reply

