Have FOs, wanna show ’em

Yup, it is true.  Miss Vicki has indeed finished a few projects.  I really want to get to show them off, but most either don’t yet have photos (that are fit to show the world) or are for swaps.  So for most, it seems we will have to wait.

In the meantime, I give you my crocheted/knitted office set.

I realize two cosies doesn’t really make a set.  But in my defence, I have since made a coaster to match the take-away drink cosy.  I would really like to make a fourth item.  In the same yarn as the headset earpiece cover, of course.  Any suggestions as to what that item ought to be?  So far, Iam considering a lip-gloss organizer or a pot plant mat, but would like to hear of other cool ideas.

What started all this?  The foam earpiece cover on my headset had turned bad.  It was deteriorating and shedding.  It was gross.  So I asked to have a replacement ordered.  At that same time, I was thinking (the usual) “I can do that, heck I can do better”.  So I selected a fun yarn form the office stash and set to work.  It took me all of two minutes, so I shouted myself a coffee to celebrate.  Needless to say, it was very hot and the corrugated paper cup just wasn’t cutting it (I am a bit of a temperature wuss too).

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Finished Objects, Knitting

2 responses to “Have FOs, wanna show ’em

  1. Doreen

    I would like that pattern for the ear pieces for the headsets. My daughter has been requesting this for quite awhile. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated! 🙂

  2. Hmmm, lemme see. I made a ring of 12 chains. Worked 2 chains (count as a dc), *2 dc in next chain, 1 dc in next chain, rep from *, join round in 2nd of the 2 chains that made first dc.
    2nd round is same as first.
    3rd round, 2 chain for first dc, work 1 dc in each dc to end, join.
    last round, 2 chain for 1st dc, dec 1 (by working 1 stitch into 2 dc instead of just 1), *1 dc in next dc, dec 1, rep from * to end, join. Finish off yarn.

    A few things to note. I used Panda Swifty knit which I’d say is at least a chunky weight yarn, possibly thicker. The ball band tells me it knits up at 17 rows and 12.5 stitches per 10cm/4inches on 8mm needles (that is UK size 0, US size 11, I think). I am fairly sure I used a 4mm crochet hook (UK8, US I dunno).

    Just give it a go, take off one of the foamy covers for comparison as you will likely need to adjust slightly for make and model. 🙂 It really is that easy.

Leave a Reply

