Thunder Chunky

For those of you who may have suspected I may have been holding back from posting pics of my recently completed ‘beret’ unnecessarily.  For anyone who thought maybe I was exaggerating when I claimed this project to be a failure (an understandable thought, for we are all to often our own worst critics).  You can now see it, and judge for yourself.

Looks like a nice beret?  If you answered yes, you are wrong.  Sorry about that, it was cruel of me to ask in the first place I suppose.  What you are looking at above was supposed to have knitted up into a super cool beret (and perhaps it does look OK in this pic).  It didn’t happen though.  This is the nicest picture I was able to take of it, it almost looks wearable (a little over the top size-wise, but wearable).  Below, is what it really looks like, in black and white for no better reason than I like the way I look in monochrome.  Hey, it is a grey hat anyhow and if I am gonna put my failures on display, I’m gonna make sure I look nice doing it.

I present to you….. THUNDER CHUNKY!!!  The name really has a great ring to it.  🙂

Well.  What is a Thunder Chunky?  I’ll tell you.  I like to name my projects (actually, I name most everything, but never mind that), though rarely get around to it until after it is completed.  Even failures get names, but they usually get the same one.  You guessed it, Thunder Chunky.  It generally expresses my dismay at having completely botched a job I am quite capable of doing well, and makes me feel a little better about it all.  Mostly I feel better, because it injects a little humour.  Funny thing though, this is my first knitted Thunder Chunky, almost all others (including the one that started it all) have been culinary disasters.  In fact, the only other crafted TC I can think of was an ugly ball of ‘yarn’ I ‘spun’ last November.  If you want to see it (which I do not reccomend), it is pictured in one of my first ever blog posts.  Basically it is the colour of Cheezles (and other cheese themed savoury crisps and snacks, extruded and otherwise) and the texture of dreadlocks (the yucky ones, not the cool dreads either).  Blergh!

I promised I would not unpick this until after I had taken photos of it.  Now I can have my yarn back and please don’t ask me not to frog.  It is already done.  I have already begun re-knitting, but not my own design this time.  I’ll get back to designing after that, but not hats for a while.

3 Comments

Filed under Chuckle, Finished Objects, Knitting

3 responses to “Thunder Chunky

  1. It’s like a starfish attacked you!

  2. I have got to give you kudos for showing your hat in all its gory “glory”. I’m in full support of anyone showing their not-so-hot knits and taking full responsibility for the evil they have unleashed in the world! Haha. I’m looking forward to a new version down the road.

  3. Forgot to say: i LOVE the name “thunder chunky”. you have inspired me to start naming my items but i must say i do not feel clever enough for the challenge most days

Leave a Reply

