Apron for SIL, finished

Yeah, I know you didn’t get to see any WIP pics of this little baby.  But it is reasonably basic, so it really wasn’t necessary anyhow.  Sewn for my Sister In Law – in part to thank her for taking the trouble and time to organise my Mum’s upcoming luau themed 50th Birthday party – partly because she is so easy to craft for, she really does seem to like my stuff – and ‘cos she is such a rockin’ gal.  Here ’tis

As you can see it is a half apron, in Red Hat Betty Boop print cotton.  The pattern I used was Simplicity 5961, view D.  I liked that it is gathered at the sides but not in the centre front, it is a flattering look I think.  My mods:  I left off the pockets, because the print is busy and the pockets were sooo huge.  The pattern also calls for bias binding on all edges af the main skirt part (as well as the pockets I left off in the end), but I finished with a narrow turned over hem.  All edges are still fully encased, it is important to me that it be machine washable to ensure it actually gets used.  I just wanted to keep it all looking simple, like I said, the fabric is the highlight here.  Well, there is a little ric rac on there.  It was a last minute decission, it was there, it was just the right length and colour.  I couldn’t help myself, it is my first official use of this trim.

So why so much concern about the print?  Well, this is for my Sister In Law and she is the biggest Betty Boop fan I know.  Admittedly I didn’t know about Red Hat Ladies back when I bought the fabric (and I still don’t know a lot), but it really doesn’t matter.  It is such a cute print, I am certain it will be very well received.  Besides, we haven’t any red hat ladies in the family, so there will be no confusion.  If I am lucky, this peice will become a permenant fixture in my SIL’s kitchen, rather than in her spare bedroom turned Boop shrine.  I have my fingers crossed, we shall see.  🙂

If anyone is interested, there is a sewalong on Craftster for this.  It has not seen a whole lot of action as yet.  But I am hoping my pics will give it a little boost, once I post ’em up.

http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=118987.0  We shall see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finished Objects, Sewing

Leave a Reply

