Lady’s Trellis Yoked Jumper

I have decided to knit myself a land-girl type short-sleeved jumper from the 40’s.  It is something I have been meaning to do for a while, and I have given a lot of thought to just what I wanted.  I began by exploring all the patterns available online (via Ravelry, of course), there is not an awful lot of them out there, but a fair range I suppose.  I could not quite decide.  I then realised that I had far more patterns sitting in my own personal physical stash than was to be found on-line.  So, I began my search again there.  This time I found plenty that were right, but this one stood out.  It has all the elements I was looking for, deep waist-band ribbing, puffed set-in sleeves, demure neckline and just enough all-over texture to stop me getting bored (ribbing and cables in this case will do just fine). 

LincolnMillsBook666modelL923

This pattern is one I have had marinading in my stash for such a long time that I do not any loner recall if the booklet this is from is one I inherited from my Nana’s stash, or if it is one I picked up at a thrift store.  Not that it matters really.  So, I don’t like carrying about vintage patterns in my WIP bag, this is something that is not very likely to surprise to any of you.  So you won’t be shocked to hear I tried to scan this baby so I could tuck away a PDF of it onto my tablet.  Since completing a lace shawl from a PDF pattern stored on my tablet, it has become my fave way to roll, and it happened very quickly!  Buuuuut… all attempts to scan have so far ended in strange pages, oddly sized and with only some of the pattern visible alongside large blank spaces.  Gah!  I gave up.  Hey, I just wanted to be able to knit, so a photocopy is fine.  Really.  Except that means I have been shy about sharing the pattern.  Understandable really, who’d want a dodgy copy of this anyway?  Well, me apparently, seeing as that is what I am still using a week after I gave up on trying to scan the pattern nicely.

What I am getting at in this over long preamble here, is that I have decided to share my rather unattractive copy of this rather lovely pattern with the world.  Or at least, those who find it and decide they want to knit it too.  One of these days I will get up from my knitting long enough to fix this mess, but for now it is at least serviceable.  Well, I think so.

With luck I will continue in this motivated industry of mine, such as it is, and even manage to blog my progress.  Who knows?  For now, I shall just leave you with a picture from the pattern booklet (at the top of this post) so you can see what it ought to look like when finished.  Currently my WIP does not look like much, as I have only completed the back half of the waist band.  And of course, I will leave you with the pattern link too, at the bottom of this post.  Hey, if you do decide to join me in giving it a go, old-fashioned instructions and all, let me know how you go wont you?

LincolnMillsBook666modelL923

4 Comments

Filed under Knitting, Patterns, Vintage, Works In Progress

4 responses to “Lady’s Trellis Yoked Jumper

  1. I *adore* this pattern. I’ve had it sitting in my pattern stash for a while as well, but am waiting for the perfect shade of maroon to present itself.

    I don’t feel comfortable carrying around vintage patterns in my bag either (it’s a surefire way to ruin them, in my opinion), so I’ve taken to taking photos of the portions of the pattern I need with my phone. That system seems to have worked out well for me so far…

    • Emma. Have you considered using Biggan Designs yarn? They always have the perfect shade AND because the colour range is permanent you can always rely on your faves sticking around. I am fortunate that it is a local brand so I can always get to a store to eyeball shades. I should warn you that it isn’t cheap, but oh my, it is worth it.

    • Whoops! I just realised which Emma you are *blush* sorry. So ignore me trying to share info that you already possess 🙂 pls?

      • It’s all good! I know of Biggan but I haven’t actually tried any of their yarn. Once that pattern nears the top of my queue, I’ll buy one of their shade cards and see if they’ve got what I want 🙂

Leave a Reply

